News Releases
The latest news and announcements from Mayor London N. Breed

Mayor London Breed Swears In 32 Appointed Commissioners

In addition to their expertise and experience, the commissioners represent San Francisco’s many diverse communities, continuing Mayor Breed’s commitment to equitable representation

San Francisco, CA — Mayor London N. Breed today held a ceremonial swearing-in for 32 commissioners she has appointed or re-appointed to various City commissions and boards. These commissioners represent a wide variety of lived experiences and expertise, and continue Mayor Breed’s commitment to equitable representation and diversity in City government.

“These commissioners and board members are tasked with not only addressing some of the most important issues facing our City, but also identifying challenges we will face in the future,” said Mayor Breed. “In order to effectively do this, we need to make sure that all San Franciscans are represented, which is why we have appointed qualified, committed individuals who represent the diversity of San Francisco.”

To date, Mayor Breed has appointed or re-appointed 75 commissioners to help address the issues facing San Francisco. Over 60% of her appointees are women, and a majority are people of color. Four of the commissioners sworn-in today are from the LGBT community.

A full list of City commissions and their responsibilities can be found at

Full list of commissioners sworn-in today:

Malcolm Yeung, Airport Commission

Paul Woolford, Arts Commission

Suzie Ferras, Arts Commission

Breanna Zwart, Commission on the Status of Women

Meena Harris, Commission on the Status of Women

Shokooh Miry, Commission on the Status of Women

Steve Arcelona, Aging and Adult Services Commission

Eddie Ahn, Commission on the Environment

Johanna Wald, Commission on the Environment

Tiffany Chu, Commission on the Environment

Belle Taylor McGhee, Film Commission

Claudine Cheng, Film Commission

Lynne Newhouse Segal, Film Commission

Tyra Fennell, Film Commission

Villy Wang, Film Commission

Dan Bernal, Health Commission

Tessie Guillermo, Health Commission

Mary Hao, Health Service Board

Andrew Wolfram, Historic Preservation Commission

Kate Black, Historic Preservation Commission

Richard Johns, Historic Preservation Commission

Melanie Ampon, Human Rights Commission

Darshan Singh, Human Services Commission

Daniella Maldonado, Juvenille Probation Commission

Margaret Brodkin, Juvenile Probation Commission

Art Tom, Rent Board

David Gruber, Rent Board

Cathy Mosbrucker, Rent Board

Carmen Chu, Retirement Board

Scott Heldfond, Retirement Board

Sharky Laguana, Small Business Commission