News Releases
The latest news and announcements from Mayor London N. Breed

Mayor Lee Announces Recipients of 2013-2014 Teacher & Principal of The Year Awards

Mayor’s Annual Awards Recognize Nine Outstanding San Francisco Public School Educators

Mayor Edwin M. Lee today announced nine outstanding San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) educators, five teachers and four principals, as the Mayor’s 2013-2014 Teacher and Principal of the Year.

“I congratulate all our teachers and principals who dedicate their lives to giving our City’s youth the education they need to succeed,” said Mayor Lee. “Their commitment to their students has inspired a new generation to think, learn and thrive in our world today, and I am proud of all of our City’s educators who are making a difference.”

“I have experienced, first-hand, the transformational power of access and equity in providing a rich and rewarding education to all students,” said SFUSD Superintendent Richard Carranza. “It is an honor to award such incredible educators who put forth their intellect and passion for these young students’ education.”

The Mayor’s Teacher of the Year Award is a project taken on with collaborative effort by the Mayor’s Office, SFUSD, the United Educators of San Francisco and the San Francisco Education Fund. This award honors San Francisco public school teachers who have demonstrated their passion for and dedication to San Francisco’s youth. 

The five Mayor’s Teacher of the Year Recipients are:

• Marissa Miller, Pre-K, Special Education, Paul Revere Elementary School

• Judy Viertel, 1st Grade, Spanish Immersion, Marshall Elementary School

• Kelly Clark, 5th Grade, Harvey Milk Civil Rights Academy

• Jeanna Chavetta, 7th Grade, Spanish Language Arts and Social Studies, Buena Vista Horace Mann K-8

• Michael Ferraro, 10th  Grade, Geometry and AP Computer Science, Balboa High School

Mayor Lee recognizes San Francisco principals every year under a program created by former Mayor Gavin Newsom, to celebrate and reward San Francisco’s prominent principals. The Mayor’s Principal of the Year Award recognizes outstanding San Francisco public school principals for their dedication, professionalism and hard work on behalf of San Francisco students. This special recognition is a collaborative effort with the Mayor’s Office, SFUSD, and United Administrators of San Francisco.

The four Mayor’s Principal of the Year Recipients are:

• Ivy Ng, Site Administrator, Argonne and Stockton Commodore Early Education Schools

• Rosina Tong, Principal, Chinese Immersion School at De Avila

• Michael Reimer, Principal, Theodore Roosevelt Middle School

• Eric Guthertz, Principal, Mission High School

Each of the nine awardees will receive a monetary award, a crystal apple from Tiffany & Co. and an array of gifts and contributions from generous San Francisco institutions including the California Academy of Sciences, The Exploratorium, Beach Blanket Babylon and other organizations including Gap, Hilton Hotels, Golden State Warriors, Rickshaw Bags, Starbucks and many others. Each teacher and principal will also receive a new laptop from Microsoft.

Mayor Lee recognized the work of nine influential educators who each represent different grade levels: Preschool, Elementary, Middle and High School. These awardees were nominated by people in their community – students, parents, colleagues, educators, and other community members – for excellence in their classroom, their school and their City. The nomination and selection process for the Mayor’s Teacher and Principal of the Year Award occurs yearly. Nominations are accepted throughout the year. For more information, go to: and